RSS

God’s Provision

02 Jul

Haven’t posted in forever. I got a smart phone and rather than using my PC to surf the web, I’ve been using it. Got a great deal on the data plan, making it cheaper to use that than the air card we had been using for internet access and we got more data to use. However, it’s a pain to type long posts on the phone, so no blog writing lately.

But I just had to get on here and update you all on what’s been going on here. Tim is still without a job…it will be 16 months July 4th. He has an interview on the 12th and prayers are appreciated for that. His health has been poor and getting poorer this whole time. I have done lots and lots of research trying to figure out what is wrong and how to fix it, and I believe we have the answer in celiac disease.

1 month ago we all went on a gluten free diet and so far his allergic reactions have slowed dramatically. Just 2 that needed inhaler, one requiring Benedryl, instead of 4-5 a week. Unfortunately the itchy rash that helped me diagnose him has gotten worse. He is now itching 24/7, scratches himself till he bleeds continually. So he occasionally takes Benedryl just to get some sleep. It knocks him out for about 18 hours, sometimes more, sometimes less. I know if we can get him a job, with insurance, there is a medication he can hopefully tolerate that will knock out the rash in a couple of days. Otherwise it’s gluten free for months to get rid of it, and gluten free for life to keep it away.

Tim found out about 2 weeks ago, during a call to unemployment office to determine how to proceed to tier 3 benefits, that because so many people in KS have now found jobs and the unemployment rate has dropped below 7%, that tier 3 benefits are being dropped for everyone else not already receiving them. He became eligible for them 4 days too late. So instead of 4 more months to find a job, he now has about a week!

Momentary panic! Then peace as I remember God’s in control. He has a plan. Now if He had asked me about the plan, things would be different. Tim would still have that 4 months to finish healing his gut and get back on his feet healthwise before trying to hold down a full time job. But He didn’t consult with me on this one ;) So the next question is…do we apply for food stamps? We talked about it, prayed about it, and while it doesn’t bother me pride wise to do it, I just don’t have a peace about it. I want God to get the glory for everything we do and receive. Not the government. God is my supply, not Uncle Sam. People have said “you can give God the glory, even if you use a government program, it’s all in your attitude.” True, even when Tim had a job, God was our supply not the employer. He gave Tim the ability to do that job. We wondered are we passing up God’s more mundane, provision thru the government, while waiting for something miraculous that He’s not granting.

So last week was VBS. I did NOT want to be there. I wanted to be home, cleaning out stuff and preparing to pack it up because the bank was about to start foreclosure proceedings. I wanted to be helping Tim sort thru job boards looking for jobs. I did not want to lead singing…I’m a singer, not a song leader! But there was no one else, and I had committed to do it. So I went. I totally had my socks blown off by God’s grace!

Day 1 theme-True Peace, God is our refuge and our strength, an ever present help in trouble, and I will not be afraid. Our verse out of Psalms, and our song for the day. God truly provides peace in the storm. I went home and thought wow, that wasn’t so bad. I can do this.

Day 2 theme-True Riches-My God will supply all your needs, according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus. VBS went well, got home, had a call from my dad wanting to help us catch up on the mortgage, had 20 lbs of gluten free noodles in my van, donated by a lady at church. I’m laughing and crying at the same time. The timing was perfect.

Day 3 theme-True Power- When you are tempted, God will provide a way out. Pastor calls and offers us a turkey.

Day 4 theme-True Love-This is how we know what love is, Jesus Christ lay down his life for us. Case of gluten free flours and mixes as well as cookies and breakfast bars etc. arrives on our doorstep anonymously mailed by someone from our church back in Tulsa. Blessed with about 30 lbs of ground beef. I’m prompted to read Psalm 40 that night. After reading David’s praises to God for lifting him up out of the pit and setting his feet on a rock, I go on to read the rest of the chapter. In verses 9 and 10 he says “9 I proclaim your saving acts in the great assembly;
I do not seal my lips, Lord,
as you know.
10 I do not hide your righteousness in my heart;
I speak of your faithfulness and your saving help.
I do not conceal your love and your faithfulness
from the great assembly. “
I got it. The Holy Spirit takes those living words off the page and says, “do this, this is for you.” So…

Day 5 theme-True Hope-We wait in hope for the Lord, He is our help and our shield. I walked in to Robin, my best friend here, who was running the show and said “I need a couple of minutes to talk” She said “oh good, I was wondering if you would mind if I used you as an example” Nope, I got it, God told me to, so I better obey. Even though I hate public speaking, it makes me sick to my stomach. Let me tell you 50 little kids can scare me witless ;) But I obeyed. I spoke of the Lord’s provision in our life and told those precious little ones how good He is, and how they can trust Him with everything. How His timing is perfect, even though we want things to go faster, now, now. His plan always works.

I was exhausted at the end of the week, but I don’t think I’ve ever had a better one. God is so good! Words can not describe how good. We can only try. We were made to praise and worship God. We can not let our lights be covered. We must tell of His wonderful deeds everywhere we go, and in everything we do. Everything must be “For His Glory”. That’s my motto, that’s my goal, to reflect back as much glory onto my Father as I can.

To all those whom God has used to supply our needs: Thank you. May you be richly blessed in return. I can say like Paul in Philippians 4 “10 I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. 11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength. “…”14 Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles. “…”17 Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account. 18 I have received full payment and have more than enough. I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus (dad, Pat, Robin, Patricia, Larry, Deb, Mary, Greatmother, anonymous givers), the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. 19 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.”

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “God’s Provision

  1. Amanda Fox

    July 2, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    Wonderful post Jennifer! Just what I needed to remind me…it takes a lot of reminders! God is in control..his time, his way. Take the back seat…God is the driver of this bus! We will be praying for Tim and his interview on the 12th!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

